Miklos Kallos and his family

  • Photo taken in:
    Cluj Napoca
    Country name at time of photo:
    Country name today:

This photo was taken in 1991 or 1992. In the photo there is my elder son Peter, with his wife and my youngest one Gyorgy with his wife and the two grandaughters. We are also in the picture, my wife Katalin Kallos and I.

I married my wife unofficially in 1948. We were officially wedded in 1949. This means we had been living together for one year when we got married.

We both had bicycles and rode them to work. My wife worked at the knitwear factory on Motilor Street. She came from the factory to the city-hall by bike.

At 11 o'clock, we appeared before the Civil Status officer, we had our ceremony, and then we went back to work. People were busy building Socialism; there was no time for anything else…

My wife's maiden name was Katalin Havas. She was born in Dej, in 1922. Her main occupation was that of a tailor. Then she became a clothing technician.

She used to work at a clothing factory here in Cluj; I don't know what it's called now, but it was called Somesul back then. She worked there for a long time. She also worked for various knitwear cooperatives.

For the last 20 years, she worked at the Drumul Nou Cooperative. It still exists today. They make all sorts of clothes, women's clothes and others. My wife's education consisted of four elementary grades and a vocational school.

My elder son's name is Peter. He was born in 1950, in Cluj. He graduated from the Conservatory. He became a flutist and a flute teacher. He worked for a while at music high schools in Cluj and Satu Mare.

At a certain point, several schools were dissolved across the country, including some music high schools. He ended up in Bucharest because his wife had to go there.

So he moved to the capital, where he worked as an editor for a national newspaper in Hungarian, 'Elore' ['Forward' in Hungarian]. He did that until 1990 or 1991, and then he moved to the Romanian Television. He still works there today.

My other son, Gyorgy, was born in 1955. He graduated from the Polytechnic in Cluj and he was appointed to work in the Bihor County. So he got to Oradea, where I had been born and I had lived.

He worked for several enterprises in the field of agriculture, as he was specialized in techniques of manufacturing agricultural machinery. Then he re-specialized in computer science.

He activated in the field of computers. He is currently what they call a businessman.

Interview details

Interviewee: Miklos Kallos
Cosmina Paul
Month of interview:
Year of interview:
Cluj-Napoca, Romania


Miklos Kallos
Year of birth:
Decade of birth:
City of birth:
Country name at time of birth:
Romania (1947–1989)
after WW II:

Other Person

Katalin Kallos
Year of birth:
Decade of birth:
City of birth:
Country name at time of birth:
Greater Romania (1918-1940)
after WW II:
Manual laborer
  • Previous family name: 
    Year of changing: 
    Reason for changing: 
    Decade of changing: 

Additional Information

Also interviewed by:
USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education
Date of interview:

More photos from this country

Laszlo and  Sandor Nussbaum
Eleonora, Robert and  Emilian Horovitz
Clara Filderman and her friend Lily Cuza
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf03 mnesdcuix8