Ietti Leibovici as a young lady

+
  • Photo taken in:
    Botosani
    Year when photo was taken:
    1948
    Country name at time of photo:
    Romania (1945-1989)
    Country name today:
    Romania

This is me, Ietti Leibovici, around the age of 17. This photograph was taken in a photo studio.

After my father, David Davidsohn, remarried in 1947, I lived with him, for 4-5 years. A daughter was born out of his second marriage, Jenica. I was glad when that happened. And we got along very well. But people started leaving, emigrating to Israel. And I wasn't a minor anymore, I was 18, and I had my own passport. My father, his wife and his little daughter had one single passport. So they were listed on my father's passport. At a certain point they received the approval for departing. And so did my grandmother. My grandfather was no longer alive. I received a negative, a reply stating that my request for departing was denied. 'What shell we do, then?' 'I will apply again.' I applied again. In the meantime, they had a passport, they had to leave. My father left together with my sister and her mother; my grandmother left as well.

I went to live with one of my father's brothers, Buium Davidsohn, who hadn't applied for emigration permission. He was living in Botosani with his wife and had a daughter who was 3 years older than me. And we got along very well. And I didn't apply for an emigration permission afterwards, I got married in the meantime. I lived at my uncle's until I got married.

I graduated the first 2 years of primary school at the Romanian school in Vatra Dornei, and 2 years - 3rd and 4th - at the Jewish school in Vatra Dornei; then, when I returned from Transnistria, for another 7 years, I attended high school under the evening studies system - there were 11 grades in those days [after World War II]. I resumed my studies around 1946. I studied both under the optional attendance and under the evening studies system, as I started working. I started working in May 1949. My first job was for the Knitwear Factory as a quality controller. I got married in 1954, and I left my job at that time, I stayed at home for approximately 5 years. I secured another job after 5 years, in the beginning I worked at the policlinic's registry office for 26 years, then all the Hospitals and Policlinics merged, and everything was placed under the leadership of the Sanitary Department, and I was transferred as a cashier working for the Financial Office of the Sanitary Department. I worked there until I retired in 1986.

Interview details

Interviewee: Ietti Leibovici
Interviewer:
Emoke Major
Month of interview:
September
Year of interview:
2006
Botosani, Romania

KEY PERSON

Ietti Leibovici
Year of birth:
1931
City of birth:
Vatra Dornei
Country name at time of birth:
Romania (1920-1945)
Occupation
after WW II:
Office clerk
Family names
  • Previous family name: 
    Davidsohn
    Year of changing: 
    1954
    Reason for changing: 
    Marriage

More photos from this country

Gavril Marcuson with Vony Esckenasy
Louiza Vecsler's ketubbah
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf03 mnesdcuix8